What is HTML5?

HTML5 is the latest version of Hyper Text Markup Language. The version of this language is 5 and it is still under development. The main aim of HTML5 is to increase the latest multimedia support and to decrease the dependency on client side scripting language like JavaScript and third party plugging like Adobe Flash Player etc. HTML5 can be effectively run on low-powered devices such as smart phones, tablets etc. Several new elements like <video>, <audio>, <canvas> etc. have been introduced in HTML5.

HTML5 is being developed in joint collaboration of the Web Hypertext Application Technology Working Group (WHATWG) and World Wide Web Consortium (W3C). As the development of HTML5 are still going on so it is not yet an official standard. No web browser supports all HTML5 elements yet, but popular web browsers like Firefox, Chrome, Internet Explorer, Safari, Opera etc. are adding more HTML5 tags support in their latest versions.

For example, we have given below a small HTML5 code snippet for creating a simple web page:

<!DOCTYPE html>
    <title>Your first HTML5 page title</title>
    Your first HTML5 page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ nine = 17

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>